Skip to main content

Geographic Context

The concept of Southeast Asia as a region began during World War II. It is a strategic definition that is still used by the region's leaders in the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN). This strategic area was conceived as extending from eastern India and southwest China to the northern shore of Australia, then along the eastern face of the Philippines. Included in the region are the nations of Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

Click on the map below for more information about Southeast Asia.

Map of the world

View Southeast Asia map