full text File Size: 82 K bytes | Add this to my bookbag

Collection Scope and Content Note

Includes both sides of Dorothy's correspondence with Willard D. Straight; letters from friends, and from her sister-in-law Gertrude V. Whitney and other relatives.

Also notebooks, guardianship papers, newspaper clippings, guest books and photographs documenting her early life; correspondence, newspaper clippings, and certificates for her civic activities; communications about Willard Straight's death and funeral arrangements, his will and photographs; correspondence about the building of Willard Straight Hall at Cornell University, and correspondence on The New Republic and Asia magazines. Major correspondents include Beatrice Bend (later Mrs. Henry Prather Fletcher), Katharine L. Barney (later Mrs. Courtlandt D. Barnes), Maurice Casenave, Herbert and Louise Croly, James Curtis, Henry P. Davison, William A. Delano, Richard Derby, Margaret (Myra) G. Dix (later Mrs. Charles Lawrance), Martin Egan, Alfred W. Fiedler, Henry Prather Fletcher, Florence (Daisy) Jaffray Harriman, Louise (Tottie) R. Knowlton (later Mrs. Buell Hollister), and George D. Marvin.

Also, William and Caroline D. Phillips, Ethel C. Roosevelt (later Mrs. Richard Derby), Susan R. Sedgwick (widow of Arthur Swann, later Mrs. Paul L. Hammond), Hazel Straight (later Mrs. James Forest Sanborn), Eliza Morgan Swift, May Tuckerman (later Mrs. Hermann Kinnicutt), Pauline P. Whitney (later Mrs. Almeric H. Paget), Anna L.B. Williams, and Gladys M. Vanderbilt (later Countess Szechenyi), A. Piatt Andrew, J. Howland Auchincloss, Robert and Martha W. Bacon and their son Robert Low Bacon, Frances P.B. Bolton, William J. Calhoun, Wilbur R. Chenoweth, Winston Churchill, Ellen Straight Cross, Richard Harding Davis, Charles D. Draper, Lord Charles French, John Foord, Mary Harriman (later Mrs. Charles C. Rumsey), Herbert C. Hoover, Colonel Edward M. House, Delancey K. Jay, Walter Lippmann, Charles Merz, Ruth Morgan, Annah D. Ripley (later Countess de Viel Castel), Alice L. Roosevelt (later Mrs. Nicholas Longworth), Corinne Roosevelt (later Mrs. Douglas Robinson), Theodore Roosevelt, Elihu Root, Lillian Wald, Lloyd Warren, William Fitz Hugh (Sheldon) Whitehouse, and Stark Young.

Show all series level scope and content notes