full text File Size: 340 K bytes | Add this to my bookbag

Collection Scope and Content Note

Includes the files of Albert S. Goss (1924-1951) and Herschel D. Newsom (1943-1958), National Masters; Charles B. Bowling (1938-1966), Transportation Consultant; Lloyd C. Halvorson (1941-1957), Economics Consultant; C.W. "Jack" Jackson (1948-1961), Public Relations Director; Wib Justi (1949-1967), Director of Youth Services; the Executive Committee (1867-1959); and the Diamond Jubilee Building Fund (1940-1942). Consists of correspondence, memoranda, notes, financial records, minutes, agenda, constitution and bylaws, resolutions, reports, speeches, certificates, legislative bills, clippings, pamphlets, a volume of Grange melodies, a scrapbook, photographs, and broadsides concerning the administration of the national and state granges, other agricultural organizations, farm credit, insurance, bonding, prices and price control, parity, taxation, Grange history, conferences, the "National Grange Monthly", and the building of the National Grange headquarters.

Also included are personal papers (1847-1929) of William Saunders, horticulturist, landscape architect, and first National Master, consisting of correspondence, a diary, journals, notes, articles, pamphlets, scrapbooks, plans, sketches, stereoscopic slides, photographs, and memorabilia regarding the U.S. Experimental Gardens, the introduction of new plants to the U.S., his designs for the national cemetery at Gettysburg, the grounds of the Lincoln Monument at Springfield, Illinois,U.S. Department of Agriculture exhibits at various international exhibitions, and the National Grange; and personal papers (1842-1926) of Oliver H. Kelley, founder and first National Secretary, consisting of correspondence, notes, newspaper clippings, and memorabilia regarding the U.S. Department of Agriculture, the National Grange, and the Kelley family.

Correspondents include D. Wyatt Aiken, Spencer F. Baird, Patrick Barry, Roy Battles, Ezra T. Benson, Earl L. Butz, Harry B. Caldwell, Horace Capron, Richard C. Carrick, Roscoe Conkling, C. Jerome Davis, Dwight D. Eisenhower, Charles M. Gardner, C.M. Hall, Alvin E. Hanson, L. James Harmanson, Jr., T. Harvey Hedgepeth, Harold E. Heldreth, John D. Hervey, Warren G. Magnuson, Thomas Meehan, Isaac Newton, Franklin C. Nixon, Richard M. Nixon, Franklin D. Roosevelt, William H. Seward, E.R. Shankland, George A. Smathers, John W. Stokes, W. Stuart Symington, Louis J. Taber, George Thurber, Luther C. Tibbets, Mortimer Whitehead, William Whitsitt, and Oliver F. Winchester.

Show all series level scope and content notes