full text File Size: 8 K bytes | Add this to my bookbag



Cornell University is the land grant institution for New York State. The University was founded in 1865, and much of its original land and endowment came from the Morrill Land Grant Act. In subsequent years, the State Legislature established four statutory colleges at Cornell: Veterinary Medicine in 1894; Agriculture in 1904; Home Economics (now Human Ecology) in 1924; and Industrial and Labor Relations in 1944. While the statutory colleges are affiliated with the State University system and receive state funding , they are not state-run.