full text File Size: 28 K bytes | Add this to my bookbag

Collection Scope and Content Note

Since the Delta Tau Delta records came from several sources, the collection was arranged into two chronological series: the undergraduate chapter, Beta Omicron, and the alumni chapter which organized as the House Corporation and functioned with trustees. Both chapters dealt extensively with the national (arch) chapter. The primary collectors were Malcolm J. Freeborn '29 and Edward J. Trethaway '49.

The bulk of the records were created during the 1960's when there was much discussion of the role of fraternities on the campus, changing social patterns, race relations and civil rights. The collection documents the fraternity's role in pressing Cornell to develop a small group housing policy including resident advisors and the efforts of the alumni chapter to raise money for and to build a new shelter. The correspondence with the membership during the final months of the campaign (primarily the spring and summer of 1964) is arranged alphabetically to show the response of individuals to the effort. Samples were kept of the actual pledge cards and of their gathering and transmission to the University. There is a file of "The Cordelt," and there are copies of Donald L. Mallory '17, "80 Years at Cornell, 1890-1970. A History of Delta Tau Delta Fraternity at Cornell University."

Besides Freeborn and Trethaway, major correspondents are: Joseph S. Barr '18, John C. Dorfman '48, William R. Ebersol '45, Louis C. (Whitey) Edgar '33, Robert A. Eyerman '32, George B. Marchev '43, Reed L. McJunkin '32, Warner D. Orvis '06, V. Stewart Underwood '43, officers of the national chapter including: Alfred P. Sheriff and Frederick D. Kershner and officers of Cornell University including: Walter Bruska, John E. Burton, Deane W. Malott, Albert S. Miles, Neal Stamp, John Summerskill, Charles E. Warwick and J. L. Zwingle.

Show all series level scope and content notes